Watch the First Trailer for Scorcese’s “The Wolf of Wall Street”

Posted: June 29th, 2013 | Author: | Filed under: Articles About Music | Tags: , , | Comments Off on Watch the First Trailer for Scorcese’s “The Wolf of Wall Street”

Scorcese/DiCaprio is one of my favorite Director/Actor pairings and they have another film to add to their catalog set to hit theaters this November.  The first trailer for “The Wolf of Wall Street”  was released last week and it features the song “Black Skinhead” off of Kanye West’s new album, Yeezus.  The movie also stars Jonah Hill, Matthew McConaughey, and Kyle Chandler.

The Best Music from the Super Bowl XLVI Commercials

Posted: February 7th, 2012 | Author: | Filed under: Articles About Music | Tags: , , , , | Comments Off on The Best Music from the Super Bowl XLVI Commercials

The commercials from this year’s super bowl may not have been very funny, but they did have some pretty good music. Here is a short  list I put together of my favorite songs found in a commercial featured during this year’s super bowl.  This list is in no significant order, other than starting with my favorite, the first single from the new Fun. album.

Fun. – “We Are Young (feat. Janelle Monáe)

FUN. – We Are Young (Radio Edit) by MMMusic

Mat Kearney – “Ships In The Night

Mat Kearney – Ships In The Night (Radio Edit) by MMMusic

The Darkness – “I Believe In A Thing Called Love

Ray Charles – What’d I Say

Kanye West – Runaway [Explicit]

Blame It On the Pop

Posted: January 1st, 2010 | Author: | Filed under: Articles About Music | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments »

Another year in music has come and gone. And once again DJ Earworm has given us a mash-up that says it all. He has taken the Top 25 hits of 2009, according to Billboard and arranged and mashed them all into one 4 and 1/2 minute song.  And I have to say I am pretty impressed that this can be done and made into a reasonably enjoyable song.  It even has a bit of a theme and a decent song structure.

But what does that say about the state of pop music,  that all of these songs are similar enough to mashed up into one singular song?  I don’t think this a completely untalented group of artists.  I actually enjoyed a fair amount of these songs this year.  But I think it goes to show how much the labels and producers are controlling the sound on these records.  It’s no wonder we eat these songs up and then make ourselves so sick of them that we never want to hear them again. Because we’re essentially listening to the same song over and over again.  What do you guys think?

Here’s a list of all of the songs included in this year’s mash-up.

  • The Black Eyed Peas – BOOM BOOM POW
  • Lady Gaga – POKER FACE
  • Lady Gaga Featuring Colby O’Donis – JUST DANCE
  • The Black Eyed Peas – I GOTTA FEELING
  • Taylor Swift – LOVE STORY
  • Flo Rida – RIGHT ROUND
  • Jason Mraz – I’M YOURS
  • Kanye West – HEARTLESS
  • The All-American Rejects – GIVES YOU HELL
  • Taylor Swift – YOU BELONG WITH ME
  • T.I. Featuring Justin Timberlake – DEAD AND GONE
  • The Fray – YOU FOUND ME
  • Kings Of Leon – USE SOMEBODY
  • Keri Hilson Featuring Kanye West & Ne-Yo – KNOCK YOU DOWN
  • Jamie Foxx Featuring T-Pain – BLAME IT
  • T.I. Featuring Rihanna – LIVE YOUR LIFE
  • Soulja Boy Tell ‘em Featuring Sammie – KISS ME THRU THE PHONE
  • Jay Sean Featuring Lil Wayne – DOWN
  • Miley Cyrus – THE CLIMB
  • Drake – BEST I EVER HAD
  • Beyonce – HALO
  • Katy Perry – HOT N COLD

RW: Cult Logic Forever

Posted: October 18th, 2009 | Author: | Filed under: Articles About Music, Remix of the Week | Tags: , , , , | 3 Comments »

miike_snowThere’s a popular mashup sloshing it’s way around the good ol’ web right now combining the talents of indie-electronic rocker Miike Snow and rapper Drake.

Lemme map out what was changed here.

(Miike Snows‘s “Cult Logic” – Vocals) (Drake‘s “Forever” – Music ) – Eminem =  The Hood Internet‘s “Cult Logic Forever

Incase mathematic symbols cause your head to spin, I just said that the mashup is the base track of Cult Logic with the vocal part of Forever, minus the Eminem section.

If anything, I’m just going to treat this song as something that helped bring Miike Snow to my attention. I’m huge on electronic-pop and this guy delivers.

So I hope that you find something of worth on this fine remix day. I hope your ears are satiated. Ω