New Conor Oberst “Hundreds of Ways”

Posted: February 12th, 2014 | Author: | Filed under: Articles About Music | Tags: , , | Comments Off on New Conor Oberst “Hundreds of Ways”

I was just talking with a friend of mine this past weekend about how it’s been far too long since we’ve heard anything new from Bright Eyes frontman, Conor Oberst.  And then yesterday we got treated with a brand new song off his upcoming solo record, Upside Down Mountain.  Oberst kicks off the first leg of his worldwide tour on May 8th ahead of the album release on the 20th.  IHYEB favorites, Dawes will be accompanying Oberst on the tour as both the opening act and his backing band.  The new song is called “Hundreds of Ways” and you can stream it below.


The Best Songs of 2011 (So Far) – Part 2

Posted: April 12th, 2011 | Author: | Filed under: Articles About Music | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on The Best Songs of 2011 (So Far) – Part 2

Yesterday I gave you the first 10 songs in my list of favorite songs of this year.  I know the just over 3 months have passed, but a lot of great music has come out already.  So here is the next 10 songs in my list.  Hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

25. The Jayhawks – Settled Down Like Rain (removed 7/21/12)

These guys may have actually pulled off the impossible and made a great reunion record (one that might be their best yet).

24. Bobby Long – Who Have You Been Loving? (removed 7/21/12)

One of the catchiest choruses of the year from a British newcomer.

23. Lykke Li – Love Out of Lust
Lykke Li – Love Out Of Lust by LykkeLi

I’ve had the melody of this chorus stuck in my head for days.

22. Cut Copy – Take Me Over (removed 7/21/12)

This track is straight out the 80’s, and I mean that in the best of ways.

21. Generationals – Greenleaf (removed 7/21/12)

This song did a better job than the weather did at letting me know that Spring had finally arrived.

20. Over the Rhine – The King Knows How (removed 7/21/12)

After 20 years these indie rockers just keep getting better and better. This song just transforms me to another time and place.

19. The Belle Brigade – Losers (removed 7/21/12)

Reminds me of Fleetwood Mac in a good way.  Losers, you no longer need Good Charlotte to represent you.

18. Foster the People – Pumped Up Kicks (removed 7/21/12)

This year’s hipster anthem.  It’ll get you whistling in no time. This year’s “Young Folks.”

17. Bright Eyes – Shell Games (removed 7/21/12)

I can’t get enough of this 80’s influenced rock anthem.  I love the way Oberst continues to evolve.

16. Beady Eye – The Roller (removed 7/21/12)

I’m still not convinced they didn’t steal this song from The Beatles’ archive.  John and Paul would be proud.

Listen to #’s 35-26

The Killers Are Covering the Basics

Posted: July 8th, 2009 | Author: | Filed under: Articles About Music | Tags: , , , | 5 Comments »

The KillersAccording to Paste Magazine, the Killers have plans to record a covers album by the end of the year. I think this album could either be really great for the killers and for the genre of cover albums, or I think it could really bomb.    The Killers have tried their hand at cover songs a few times already.  They’ve recorded a couple really great covers, and some not so great.  I think it will all come down to the song selection.  As far as what could get covered for this album, I think the list is wide open.   Some names that are already being thrown around are Genesis, Cyndi Lauper, Tom Waits, and Fleet Foxes.  Oddly enough, I feel like they have a better chance of pulling it off with the more outlandish pop songs than with the indie rock stuff. But who knows.  Here’s some of what they have done so far. Which one do you think is the best?

Monsters of Folk Album Coming to Fruition

Posted: July 4th, 2009 | Author: | Filed under: Articles About Music | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments »

Monsters of FolkIt has finally been confirmed that the one time tour mates that called themselves the “Monsters of Folk” have recorded an album.  This indie-rock supergroup is made up of M. Ward, Jim James (My Morning Jacket), Conor Oberst, and Mike Mogis (Bright Eyes producer).  Talk of this album has been floating around the blogosphere ever since they first went on tour together in ’04.  It is great to finally receive news that this record is actually complete.  The self-titled debut is set to be released 9/22 via Shangri-La.  According to the press release, these four guys will be playing all the instruments on the record. Here are a few tunes for those of you who are foolish enough to think that these guys don’t make folk music. I am so stinkin’ excited for this record.

M. Ward, Conor Oberst & Jim James – Girl From The North Country

Bright Eyes – Lua

Jim James & Calexico – Goin’ To Acapulco

M. Ward – Helicopter