A Wintry Mix: Vol. 5

Posted: January 5th, 2014 | Author: | Filed under: Articles About Music | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on A Wintry Mix: Vol. 5

Every year for the past 5 years around Christmas time I have taken the time to create a wintry sounding mix that I have sent out to friends and family along with our annual Christmas letter.  For some reason I have never thought to share that mix on here, so here it is.

A Wintry Mix: Vol. 5

1. Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash – “Girl from the North Country”

Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash – Girl From The North Country from brilliant orks on Vimeo.

2. Water Liars – “You Work Days I Work Nights”

3. Levi Weaver – “Spirit First”

4. Hip Hatchet – “Sing Me a Reprise”

5. Shawn James – “Eating Like Kings”

6. Bear’s Den – “Isaac”

7. Noah Gundersen – “San Antonio Fading”

8. Ben Howard – “I Will Be Blessed”

9. A Great Big World – “Say Something”

10. Sia – “Breathe Me”

11. Passenger – “Let Her Go”

12. Folly and the Hunger – “Ghost”

13. The Avett Brothers – “Bring Your Love to Me”

14. John K. Samson – “Letter in Icelandic from the Ninette San”

15. Foy Vance & Ed Sheeran – “Guiding Light”

16. Chris Bathgate – “Serpentine”

17. Local Natives – “Columbia”

18. Night Beds – “22”

19. Dominique Fricot – “Seashore”

20. A Boy and His Kite – “Till the End of Time”

21. Jason Isbell – “Cover Me Up”

Here is a link to listen to the entire playlist on Spotify.

New David Gray Video

Posted: August 23rd, 2009 | Author: | Filed under: Articles About Music | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment »

David Gray - Draw the LineSo I am a little behind in sharing this with you, but David Gray has a new album coming out towards the end of next month.  The album will be titled Draw the Line and is being released on Downtown Records.  I haven’t always been the biggest fan of David Gray, but between my wife and I there isn’t an album that one of us doesn’t own.  So I am sure that at least one of us will end up owning and loving Draw the Line.  He’s released a new single from the record, called “Fugitive.”  I’m sure what I think about it yet, but fortunately for you that doesn’t really matter, since you can watch the video below and decide for yourself.

As I was doing a little research for this post, I discovered that Gray actually has an entire covers album called A Thousand Miles Behind, that I was completely unaware of.  It’s all live acoustic performances of great songs by some legendary artists, such as Bob Dylan or Randy Newman. Here are couple tracks off of that record for all those intrigued.

ACL Preview – The Low Anthem

Posted: May 29th, 2009 | Author: | Filed under: Articles About Music, Limited Series | Tags: , , | 1 Comment »

The Low Anthem - Oh My God, Charlie DarwinFor my first artist recommendation for your ACL festival trip this coming fall, I have chosen a band called The Low Anthem. I first discovered this band from a Paste Sampler late last year. The name of the song was “Charlie Darwin” and I absolutely loved it.  It is a hauntingly gorgeous song.  It’s the title track for their second album, originally released late last year.  Oh My God, Charlie Darwin has been re-mastered and is being reissued on Nonesuch records June 9th with an updated tracklisting and new packaging.

The Low Anthem reigns from Rhode Island and consists of Ben Miller on vocals and guitar, Jocie Adams on clarinet, and Jeffrey Prystowsky on bass.  But each of them play an array of other instruments on the album and during their live shows.  They have garnered a lot of praise  from the indie music critics.  Paste Magazine called them “time-honored and astonishingly innovative.”  And they have gotten many comparisons to both Bob Dylan and Tom Waits.  That is in part due to the rough singing on some of the latter tracks on the album, or the Waits song that they cover on the new album.  But I think it’s mostly due to the sincerity found in their songwriting.  So listen to this great song and add The Low Anthem to your list of bands to see at Austin City Limits this fall.

The Low Anthem – Charlie Darwin

If you need more convincing you can stream their first album here.

Alexi Murdoch Does Soundtrack For New Mendes Film

Posted: May 7th, 2009 | Author: | Filed under: Articles About Music | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Alexi Murdoch Does Soundtrack For New Mendes Film

Oscar Winner, Sam Mendes is back in 2009 with a film that seems sure to be a winner. It looks to be a hilariously charming film about couple discovering “home” for the first time. Starring SNL‘s Maya Rudolph and The Office‘s John Krasinski, Away We Go tells the story of a couple expecting their first child, and their journey across the U.S.  in search of the perfect place to start their new family.   Krasinski and Rudolph are also joined by a very talented and very fun supporting cast that includes Jeff Daniels, Catherine O’Hara, Jim Gaffigan and more.  Not only that, but the film’s soundtrack is phenomenal.  The film prominently features indie artist Alexi Murdoch’s music along with a few tracks from some living legends, like George Harrison and Bob Dylan.  There are several tracks from Murdoch’s critically acclaimed debut Time Without Consequence, as well as 3 previously unreleased songs.  The soundtrack will be released digitally on June 2nd, just three days before the film opens in theaters on the 6th.  The soundtrack will also hit stores late that month on Zero Summer Records.

Alexi Murdoch – Orange Sky

Alexi Murdoch – All My Days