Lie Witness News: State of the Union Edition

Posted: February 1st, 2014 | Author: | Filed under: Film & Television Stuff | Tags: | No Comments »

Lie Witness NewsOne of the funniest bits that Jimmy Kimmel does on his show is take to the streets and interview people about things that either don’t exist or haven’t happened yet and see what kind of response they give.  He calls it Lie Witness News.  It’s amazing how many people will just b.s. their way through the interview.  In the latest installment of Lie Witness News, they asked people what they thought about the President’s State of the Union address, which hadn’t even taken place at the time of the interview.  It is absolutely hysterical.

Watch the New ‘Veronica Mars’ Trailer

Posted: January 6th, 2014 | Author: | Filed under: Film & Television Stuff | Tags: , | 1 Comment »

I can’t believe this is actually happening.  The entire gang is back and it looks real promising. I think I’m gonna have to re-watch the tv series in anticipation of it’s theatrical release on March 14th.

A Wintry Mix: Vol. 5

Posted: January 5th, 2014 | Author: | Filed under: Articles About Music | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off

Every year for the past 5 years around Christmas time I have taken the time to create a wintry sounding mix that I have sent out to friends and family along with our annual Christmas letter.  For some reason I have never thought to share that mix on here, so here it is.

A Wintry Mix: Vol. 5

1. Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash – “Girl from the North Country”

Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash – Girl From The North Country from brilliant orks on Vimeo.

2. Water Liars – “You Work Days I Work Nights”

3. Levi Weaver – “Spirit First”

4. Hip Hatchet – “Sing Me a Reprise”

5. Shawn James – “Eating Like Kings”

6. Bear’s Den – “Isaac”

7. Noah Gundersen – “San Antonio Fading”

8. Ben Howard – “I Will Be Blessed”

9. A Great Big World – “Say Something”

10. Sia – “Breathe Me”

11. Passenger – “Let Her Go”

12. Folly and the Hunger – “Ghost”

13. The Avett Brothers – “Bring Your Love to Me”

14. John K. Samson – “Letter in Icelandic from the Ninette San”

15. Foy Vance & Ed Sheeran – “Guiding Light”

16. Chris Bathgate – “Serpentine”

17. Local Natives – “Columbia”

18. Night Beds – “22″

19. Dominique Fricot – “Seashore”

20. A Boy and His Kite – “Till the End of Time”

21. Jason Isbell – “Cover Me Up”

Here is a link to listen to the entire playlist on Spotify.

Free Music Friday: Guster “Live with the Redacted Symphony”

Posted: December 6th, 2013 | Author: | Filed under: Free Music Friday | Tags: , | Comments Off

One of my all-time favorite bands just released a new live album called “Live with the Redacted Symphony” that they are giving away for free on NoiseTrade .   The album includes 7 classic Guster songs and 3 song from their most recent album, all performed live with a symphony orchestra. It’s pretty good stuff and it has me itchin’ to see these guys live again.  I read recently that they have a new album in the works. I never really got into 2010′s Easy Wonderful, but they are one of those bands that has earned my loyalty and I will give a listen to anything they release.

Live with the Redacted Symphony Tracklist

  1. Satellite
  2. What You Call Love
  3. Ramona
  4. Two Points for Honesty
  5. Fa Fa
  6. This Is How It Feels to Have a Broken Heart
  7. Lightning Rod
  8. Demons
  9. On the Ocean
  10. Come Downstairs and Say Hello