Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows: Songs of John Prine

Posted: June 25th, 2010 | Author: | Filed under: Articles About Music | Tags: , , , , | Comments Off on Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows: Songs of John Prine

An all-star collection of artists have collaborated to pay tribute to the great folk troubadour John Prine.  The project titled, Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows: Songs of John Prine, was released earlier this week (June 22) on Prine’s very own Oh Boy Records.  The album includes many of the current “monsters of folk,”  with Conor Oberst and Jim James’ My Morning Jacket, along with several other indie-folk staples, like Justin Vernon, The Avett Brothers,  Josh Ritter and many more.  I have yet to hear the record but it is already receiving much love from the blogosphere and the greater indie community.  Looks like a fun little adventure for Prine and folk enthusiasts. Be on the look out for Prine himself as he will be on tour this summer in support of his own recent release, In Person and On State.

Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows Tracklist

1. Justin Vernon of Bon Iver – Bruised Orange (Chain Of Sorrow)

2. Conor Oberst And The Mystic Valley Band – Wedding Day In Funeralville

3. My Morning Jacket – All The Best

4. Josh Ritter – Mexican Home

5. Lambchop – Six O’Clock News

6. Justin Townes Earle – Far From Me

7. The Avett Brothers – Spanish Pipedream

8. Old Crow Medicine Show – Angel From Montgomery

9. Sara Watkins – The Late John Garfield Blues

10. Drive-By Truckers – Daddy’s Little Pumpkin

11. Deer Tick featuring Liz Isenberg – Unwed Fathers

12. Those Darlins – Let’s Talk Dirty In Hawaiian

Comments are closed.