Vampire Weekend Announce New Record, Contra

Posted: September 28th, 2009 | Author: | Filed under: Articles About Music | Tags: | 2 Comments »

Vampire Weekend - ContraVampire Weekend has recently disclosed some details  about their forthcoming album, Contra. You may have actually seen this preppy blonde photo floating around the blogosphere as of late, not knowing what it was. Or not. Either way, it will be the cover art for the new record which will be released on Jan. 12th through XL.  Along with the cover art, the band has also released the tracklist.  The one song on there that might actually mean something to any of you would “White Sky”, which they first unveiled live on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon.  Although it according to what frontman Ezra Koenig told Entertainment Weekly, it might sound quite a bit different. “The recorded version is very different from how we played it on Fallon,” said Koenig. “The real version is more like how we’ve been playing it live. There’s a lot of synth sounds, and it’s a little more pumped up.”  No music has been shared with us yet, but I’ll fill you in once I get the chance to hear it.  Here is the tracklist and a couple of Canadian tour dates coming up.

Contra Tracklist

1. Horchata
2. White Sky
3. Holiday
4. California English
5. Taxi Cab
6. Run
7. Cousins
8. Giving Up the Gun
9. Diplomat’s Son
10. I Think Ur A Contra

October Canadian Dates

10-06 Montreal, Quebec – Le National
10-08 Toronto, Ontario – Horseshoe Tavern

2 Comments on “Vampire Weekend Announce New Record, Contra”

  1. 1 John45 said at 7:06 am on October 22nd, 2009:

    COOK: Cook to safe temperatures. ,

  2. 2 Roy93 said at 6:00 am on October 23rd, 2009:

    The term ‘next higher level’ has to be understood as meaning the next level that corresponds to a relevant change of configuration. ,